Arch Manning will enroll early at Texas

Three elite quarterbacks were announced as finalists for the Gatorade National Player of the Year Friday morning.

Oklahoma’s Jackson Arnold, USC’s Malachi Nelson and Texas’ Arch Manning are the three finalists for the prestigious annual award. Each is the Gatorade Football Player of the Year in their respective state.

In selecting winners, Gatorade considers grades and extracurricular activities, in addition to on-field prowess.

Arnold was key to the success of Guyer High School (Denton, Texas), the only team among the three finalists to participate in the Super 25 this season. With a 14-1 record, the team was in the top half of the national rankings for most of the year before falling in the semifinals and finishing at No. 25.

The five-star quarterback went 231-for-336 with 3,476 yards, 33 touchdowns and three interceptions. He added 24 touchdowns on the ground and rushed for 921 yards, finishing the season with 4,397 total yards and 57 total touchdowns.

He graduated in December with a 4.5 GPA and will attend spring classes at Oklahoma. He was involved in clubs including the Texas Young Men’s League, Lantana Chapter and was a math tutor, according to Gatorade.

Nelson, a five-star quarterback ranked No. 3 in the class by the 247Sports Composite, led Los Alamitos (Calif.) to a 9-3 record, passing for 2,898 yards and 35 touchdowns. He added two more touchdowns and 153 yards on the ground.

The 6-foot-3, 180-pound QB donated a portion of his NIL deal to a local Pop Warner group, according to Gatorade. He also volunteered as a youth soccer coach.

Manning is ranked as the No. 1 player in the class by the 247Sports Composite. He led Isidore Newman (New Orleans, La.) to an 8-3 record, passing for 2,305 yards, 34 touchdowns and two interceptions and rushing for 378 yards and four touchdowns.

The 6-foot-4, 215-pound quarterback graduated in December with a 3.5 GPA and enrolled for the spring semester at Texas, according to Gatorade. He was a volunteer at a local camp for children with special needs.

Gatorade is set to announce the winner of the 2022-2023 Gatorade National Football Player of the Year next week.

Previous winners include Penn State running back Nick Singleton, Ole Miss quarterback Jackson Dart, Georgia tight end Aric Gilbert and USC wide receiver Jake Smith, who is on the transfer portal.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *